Eligibility for International Students

To apply for an MGT vacancy, international students need to ensure that they have the relevant authorisation to work in the UK beyond the expiry of their student visa. To explore your options for working in the UK after your studies, please also consult our guidance for international students.

Graduate route ("Post-study work")

The Graduate route is a work route for those who have a degree, Masters or PhD or other relevant qualification awarded by an approved UK Higher Education provider. It is an unsponsored route, so your application does not need sponsorship or any endorsement by an employer or by your university. This means you can work for any employer to gain work experience.

Most successful applicants can stay for two years under the Graduate route. PhD graduates can stay for three years.

For more information:

MGT fixed-term contract roles and short-term visas

It may be possible to use a short-term work experience visa (Government Authorised Exchange Visa, previously T5 Visa) to cover an MGT role that is a fixed-term contract for less than 12 months. The visa is sponsored by another organisation (not the employer), so you will need to leave the UK at the end of the visa. You will need to arrange the visa yourself through the sponsor once you have a job offer. Historically, though, the nature of MGT roles means that none have met the requirements of the previous Tier 5 sponsorship to date.

If you qualify for the Youth Mobility Scheme, you can work in the UK for up to two years. This scheme is available to nationals of Australia, Canada, Monaco, New Zealand, San Marino, Iceland, and to British Overseas Citizens, British Overseas Territories Citizens and British Nationals (Overseas). You must be selected in the Youth Mobility Scheme ballot before you can apply for your visa if you’re from: Hong Kong, Japan, South Korea and Taiwan.

For more information: