Online Workshops

We are delighted to bring you our programme of live Online Workshops for Semester 2. All sessions are listed on this page and will be in CareerConnect.

What is an Online Workshop?

We will be looking at a variety of different Careers and Employability topics in short 30 minute sessions with the opportunity to ask questions to our Careers Team afterwards. We are using a number of different virtual platforms to host these.

How will I know when these are running?

All Online Workshops will be added to CareerConnect. You can search the events by event type, date or keyword or can view them on the calendar within CareerConnect. They are also listed by month at the bottom of this page.

How do I register to attend?

As our sessions are held on a variety of platforms, the CareerConnect listing will have the full registration details.

If I missed a session this semester, can I still access it?

Yes of course! We realise we have students based in many different countries where time zones are different. We also know many of our students are working, have caring responsibilities, academic commitments, and lots of other things going on. It’s okay - you can access our online workshop sessions on our YouTube Playlist. You'll also find a range of videos and a range of ‘On Demand’ workshops via our Careers Service YouTube Channel.

Can I request a topic?

Yes, we are really keen to hear from our students on what would help you during this time. Contact us through the queries function in CareerConnect with your request and we will try to accommodate these.

Semester 2 workshops

The following workshops have been confirmed for Semester 2. Additional sessions will be added once they are confirmed.

You can find full details and booking instructions for the workshops in CareerConnect.

February:

  • Placement Drop-In
    Wednesday 10 February 10-11am
  • Career Decisions and Plans: A Step-by-Step Guide
    Tuesday 16 February 12.30-2pm
  • Student Experience Internship Application Session
    Tuesday 16 February 2-3pm
  • Graduate Entry to Medicine and Physician's Associate session
    Wednesday 17 February 2-3pm
  • Discover Your Strengths and how they can help you make career decisions
    Thursday 18 February 1-2pm
  • Discover CareerConnect: Your introduction to our new Careers Service system
    Friday 19 February 11am-12pm
  • Navigating the job market for doctoral researchers: Spring 2021 update
    Monday 22 February 12-1pm
  • Navigating the job market for taught postgraduates: Spring 2021 update
    Tuesday 23 February 12-1pm
  • Build Skills. Get Work Experience
    Tuesday 23 February 1-2pm
  • Student Experience Internship (SEI) - Frequently Asked Questions session
    Wednesday 24 February, 2-2.45pm
  • Discover CareerConnect: Your introduction to our new Careers Service system
    Thursday 25 February 11am-12pm
  • Build your Confidence and Secure Work Experience
    Thursday 25 February 1-2.15pm

March:

  • How to sell yourself: creating your personal brand
    Monday 1 March 1-2pm
  • Disclosure of Disability and Reasonable Adjustments: What you need to know
    Tuesday 2 March 1-2.30pm
  • Careers in Publishing session with talks from HarperNorth and Society of Young Publishers
    Tuesday 2 March 5-6.15pm
  • Get Experience: Presentations and Group Work Skills
    Wednesday 3 March 1-3.30pm
  • Get hired: Advice from employers
    Thursday 4 March 12.30-1.30pm
  • Applying for jobs for doctoral researchers: Q&A
    Tuesday 9 March 12-1pm
  • Brush Up On…. Situational Judgement Tests
    Tuesday 9 March 1-1.45pm
  • Get Experience: Virtual Assessment Centres
    Wednesday 10 March 10am-12.15pm and 1.15-3.30pm
    Please note there are two separate sessions, you only need to attend one session.
  • Applying for jobs for taught postgraduates: Q&A
    Thursday 11 March 12-1pm
  • EnviroMingle Online 2021
    Wednesday 17 March 1-3pm
  • Interviews and assessment for taught postgraduates: Q&A
    Thursday 18 March 12-1pm
  • Working in Charities
    Thursday 18 March 2-3.30pm
  • Interviews and assessment for doctoral researchers: Q&A
    Monday 22 March 12-1pm
  • International Development and Humanitarian Careers
    Tuesday 23 March 2-4pm
  • Commercial Awareness
    Wednesday 24 March 12.30-1.30pm
  • First Insight Conference
    Wednesday 24 March 1-5pm
    The Careers Service is launching this brand new online event for first year students from any degree programme. The First Insights Conference gives you the opportunity to explore different sectors, which will help you make careers decisions about work experience, internships and extra-curricular activities.
    Full details will be released in March 2021.
  • Insight into Teaching and Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL)
    Thursday 25 March 2-3.30pm
  • Insight into Media
    Monday 29 March 10.30am-1.40pm

April:

  • Get LinkedIn! Build your network
    Monday 19 April 1-2pm
  • Get LinkedIn! Explore options, find opportunities
    Tuesday 27 April 1-2pm
  • Career Planning for Students and Graduates with a Disability
    Thursday 29 April 12.30-1.30pm